This used to be called Waterhouse Pond, but in 1872, John Ruskin landscaped the surroundings, had the pond cleaned and provided with sluices, all as a tribute to his mother, Margaret.

A stone is engraved with the following inscription: ‘In obedience to the giver of life, of the brookes and fruits that feed, and the peace that ends. May this well be kept sacred for the service of mews, flocks and flowers, and be by kindness called; Margaret’s Well. This pool was beautified and endowed by John Ruskin Esq MA L LD.’

Carshalton UDC took it on in 1899

Discover the park

Waterhouse Road,
behind Honeywood House,
OS Grid Ref:
TQ 27778 64471
Find out how to get here

Facilities & access