One of Croydon’s earliest recreation grounds, it was acquired by Croydon Corporation in 1884 and provided with a bandstand and drinking fountain which are long gone. It was a very popular park in its Victorian heyday and cricket was played there.

Today it comprises 5.46 hectares of parkland with many recreational facilities – running trails, a bowling green and pavilion, an artificial cricket wicket, a children’s playground, an outdoor gym and two floodlit multi-games courts.

There is also an ornamental garden, opened in 1987.

Discover the park

Melfort Road and Bridport/Richmond Road
OS Grid Ref:
TQ 31753 68617
Find out how to get here

Facilities & access

  • Running trails
  • Bowling green and pavilion
  • Cricket wicket (artificial)
  • Children's playground
  • Outdoor gym
  • Ornamental garden
  • Two multi-games courts (floodlit)